Splicd: Edit YouTube Videos

WHAT IS SPLICD?

In today’s classroom, YouTube is commonplace. However, often YouTube or other video clips are lengthy and bogged down with filler video. Splicd is a great tool for these scenarios; this website creates a new link for YouTube videos based on the section of the video you want it to play. Simply enter the YouTube URL and the start and stop times and the website will spit out a new link for this shortened clip. This allows educators to include more efficient video links into lesson plans.

HOW WAS SPLICD RATED?
For information about rating scales, click here

Resource Overall Poor ★ ★ ★ ★ ½ Excellent
Student Response  Negatively ★ ★ ★ ★ ½ Positively
Repeatability  Unlikely ★ ★ ★ ★ ½ Highly Likely
Ease of Use  Difficult ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ Easy
Set-Up Time  Short ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ Lengthy
Tech Skills  Basic ★ ½ ☆ ☆ ☆ Expert


WHO REVIEWED SPLICD?

Erick Gremlich
Fernley, Nevada

Instead of using the entire YouTube video and having to jump around the video trying to find the part I wanted, I was able to show the exact clip I needed, preset to the time interval I wanted to show.

Students appreciated taking out the excess video material, but some wanted to see the whole video anyway.

Ruth Wilson
Centennial, Colorado

I used Splicd to edit YouTube videos to capture what I wanted to share with students for instructions and discussions while cropping out what was unnecessary or required editing. My focus was to create a series of edited videos to use in my Art History classes. Before using this tool I would have to fast forward through scenes and the presentations were often focused more on this process than being able to highlight the content.

I also embedded the video clips on my classroom website so that if students missed the presentation they could watch it from anywhere anytime. Another use I found was to have students watch the video clip at home and come to class prepared to discuss what they thought of the film or what they learned about the artist, style, or time period.

Students enjoyed being able to refer to the video clips at home as well as during class. They also appreciate when I break instruction up with multimedia, especially when I can bring in more contemporary productions. Further, students felt it was easier to understand and appreciate the value of the videos without the constant fast forwarding process I had to use in the past.

This is a great resource that I am now using across all of the Art courses I teach. It has made my instruction much more effective and engaging.

TIPS FOR CLASSROOM IMPLEMENTATION:

  • Have students search YouTube for videos about the content you are teaching along with you. Have them evaluate the videos they find to determine which would help them in order to promote media literacy.
  • Make sure to watch the clock on the YouTube video to know the exact time for when you want to start and end.
Leave a Reply

